The Idea of Love

ggg

The relationship that one’s self has with love is a matter of perspective. Some are firm believers and some allowed the world to make them grow cold, giving up the aspect of believing in the matter. In my case, I’m in love with the idea of love.

The broken relationships around me and toxic pairs I’ve witnessed could have discouraged me from the whole idea. The heartbreak I’ve went through on my own certainly could have made me a non believer too. Luckily, I have too much desire to fall in love rather than letting my heart wither away and fade into my core.

Love isn’t some materialistic thing or social status. Love isn’t just physical attraction either. It’s not about how many times he compliments your butt, no matter how bootylicious it may be. It’s not about the gifts, the social media posts, the dates or the amount of times that he calls you a pet name.

Love is when you’re in the car and glance over at the other person snoring against the window and squeeze their hand, just to see them smile. Love is when you’re not afraid to tell the other person about your passion for life and it’s aspects. It’s when you’re completely comfortable enough to tell your story to the other person. It’s when the fear of trusting someone is out the window. It’s when the indescribable feeling that overcomes you doesn’t allow you to develop words, the only way to fill in the spaces of those words is to kiss. Love is when you realize the imperfections and communicate about them instead of starting a fight because you care so much about each other that the last thing you want to do is give up and walk away.

I want to hold hands in the car, slow dance in the kitchen, kiss under the stars on the beach, go camping in the mountains, I want to slow dance to my wedding song under a canopy of Christmas lights and wake up to someone who’s thinking the same thing as I am; “How did I get this lucky?” I know that these things sound far-fetched and romance novel material but it’s not these things actually happening that just matter but the feeling of these things.

In order to fall in love, you have to be vulnerable. Though, with vulnerability comes the possible outcome of heartbreak. Break down your walls but be prepared for the chance of consequences. Never give up.

Your heart can break a million times but there’s always time to heal. Do not let fear steer you away from the chance of a lifetime.

Love is the key to self-destruction but it’s also one of the most rewarding feelings you could ever have in your lifetime. If witnessing heartbreak and confusion are only obstacles to finding love, then I’m willing to destroy myself completely.

Leave a Reply

