Stockholm Syndrome

I will miss your kiss “goodnight”, and your kiss in the morning before you leave for work.
I will miss your hot tea and toast brought to me in your bed as I lay beneath the soft blankets you and I had chosen on together.
The sun rays that you hated shining through will forever linger in my memory.
I will long for your soul-lacking eyes, and your hopeful smile that was always to assure me that; “Everything is fine.”
Though, I will not miss the tears that you caused. I will not miss being hysterical, screaming on top of staircases. I will not miss the manipulation that you made me feel, and the anxiety, confusion and frustration that followed.
I will not miss being left in the dark and I am now allowing myself to live without broken promises and empty words. I am deciding that I will no longer allow myself to feel like a hostage in a relationship.
What once was, is now no longer. The rest is up to me.
It feels great to be back.
2 thoughts on “Stockholm Syndrome

Leave a Reply

