Table For One

r

I was going to catch up with an old friend of mine at a local coffee hop, but he would be too late. I needed someone to talk to, but I ate alone.

After crying in the bathroom stall in the back of the cafe, I sat back down at my table for one to stare blankly at the television across the room. I paid no attention to what football team was playing, I just needed somewhere to focus my eyes, because I felt like everyone was staring.

The once settling, dim lights blurred together, and the holiday music grew faint and less inviting. 

The waitress approached my table with a smile, I could tell she knew.

I was hoping that the tea would calm me down, but it only made me feel more alone. I shouldn’t be so upset about alone time, I have been thinking that it has been what I have been needing. 

I was hoping it would clear my head. It did, only to allow more thoughts to rush in. I began to think too deeply about things I didn’t want to be thinking about, so I ordered a coffee to go, shaking off the thoughts that sourced from my personal isolation. None of the strangers watched me leave, and I was thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

