Dear Hopefulness,

I drove past, seeing you in front of the old brick building, smiling as you talked to your new-found sunshine. For years, I had hoped to be your first sunshine. Never before did I think I would even want to say; “hello” but, today was rough and things are different now. I parked around the block, rushing in the cold with only a light jacket, just to give you a surprise embrace. The last time I had hugged you, we both had tears in our eyes.

When I made it around the corner, passing one or two of the local shops; I was left standing in the middle of the sidewalk, in the middle of a town I have never had a desire to be in. I wanted to cry, feeling rejection.

I reminded myself, that it was not rejection. It was only a failed surprise. I think I was only disappointed because I did not get to see how you would have reacted.

Things are different now, so I know that you will be back;

Father.

2 thoughts on “Dear Hopefulness,

Leave a Reply

